Ten Years of Compilation CDs (Disc No.7)

Hopping around the genres like crazy on Volume 7; drone, surf rock, blues, post rock, singer songwriter, and that’s all in the first third of the CD! A couple of tracks of note, the sublime cover of Kate Bush’s Wuthering Heights by punk act China Drum, the amazing bass line in GIAA’s No Return and Late of the Pier, whatever happened to them? Closing with the beautiful but sinister Chernobyl, used to such creepy effect in Ben Wheatley’s “A Field In England”.

As always have a listen below.

1. Tim Hecker – The Piano Drop
2. Man or Astro-man? – Man Made of CO2
3. The Jon Spencer Blues Explosion – Wail
4. The Detroit Cobras – Insane Asylum
5. Perfume Genius – Mr Peterson
6. Rose Kemp – Dirty Glow
7. Maybeshewill – Critical Distance
8. Arcade Fire – City With No Children
9. Austra – Lose It
10. Dananananaykroyd – Muscle Memory
11. China Drum – Wuthering Heights
12. God Is An Astronaut – No Return
13. Let’s Wrestle – Bad Mammaries
14. Herman Dune – Tell Me Something I Don’t Know
15. The Mountain Goats – For Charles Bronson
16. Tindersticks – The Flicker of a Little Girl
17. Late of the Pier – Focker
18. Stereolab – Ping Pong
19. These New Puritans – Attack Music
20. Eleven Tigers – Atomic Turnip
21. Blanck Mass – Chernobyl

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: