Ten Years of Compilation CDs (Disc No.11)

Volume 11 kicks off rather viscerally with Ben Frost’s Killshot, shake up the senses a bit before the gothic pop of Cold Cave comes crashing in! Other notables for me this time are O. Children, what happened to them? One good album in 2012 then nothing. That Clutch track is a doozy and who remembers Collapsed Lung? I remember seeing them first or second on the bill at Reading in ’94 or ’95. Then Buck 65 tells you how to shine a shoe properly, leading to AWVFTS closing the mix in a gorgeous, close your eyes and float away type of er, way. It’s not post rock but that is the most post rock song title I’ve seen in some time!

1. Ben Frost – Killshot
2. Cold Cave – The Great Pan Is Dead
3. Maxïmo Park – This is What Becomes of the Broken Hearted
4. Metric – Speed The Collapse
5. Beach House – Myth
6. The Invisible – Surrender
7. O. Children – Holy Wood
8. Liars – WIXIW
9. Crocodiles – Dark Alleys
10. Arab Strap – The First Big Weekend
11. Clutch – Electric Worry
12. Collapsed Lung – Down With The Plaid Fad
13. Buck 65 – Craftmanship
14. El-P – The Jig is Up
15. Why? – These Few Presidents
16. A Winged Victory For The Sullen – We Played Some Open Chords And Rejoiced, For The Earth Had Circled The Sun Yet Another Year

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: