Ten Years of Compilation CDs (Disc No.22)

Volume 22. Heading towards half way! We kick off with the haunting, unsettling, almost nautical soundscapes of The Haxan Cloak with its creaking and rattling, disembodied voices and sounds of toil here and there. After the almost Flaming Lipsian vocals of David Lynch we pick up the tempo with a bit of Melt Yourself Down. We then take a bit of a swerve into some early 90s Belgian industrial followed by the very odd but rather great Mouse on Mars and Mark E. Smith collaboration Von Südenfed.

A couple of excellent punk rock songs push the boundaries of the heaviness limit so I return to safer territory with some hip hop and then a brief trip to the 80s! Mark Lanegan’s cover of Neil Sedaka’s Solitaire is unsurprisingly brilliant and of course that Songs: Ohia tune is an absolute beaut. Another good one this! Pray listeneth below…

1. The Haxan Cloak – Burning Torches of Despair
2. Danger Mouse & Sparklehorse feat. David Lynch – Star Eyes (I Can’t Catch It)
3. Melt Yourself Down – Tuna
4. Front 242 – Tragedy >For You<
5. Von Südenfed – Chicken Yiamas
6. Refused – New Noise
7. Fucked Up – Ship of Fools
8. Gallon Drunk – The Dumb Room
9. Dangerdoom – Sofa King
10. Jurassic 5 – Freedom
11. A Flock of Seagulls – Wishing
12. The Associates – Party Fears Two
13. Rev. Horton Heat – Jezebel
14. Mark Lanegan – Solitaire
15. Teho Teardo & Blixa Bargeld – Come Up and See Me
16. Sparklehorse – It’s A Wonderful Life
17. Songs: Ohia – Coxcomb Red
18. Sounds From The Ground – Gather
19. Remember Remember – John Candy



  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: